Fall Out Boy’s ‘Champion’ begs for victory in losing battle

“Champion” is the second single to be released from “M A N I A” — which means it is the second disappointing single from this washed up purple-indie-llama era. Now don’t get me wrong, I like Fall Out Boy. However, I have not been impressed by their change of sound. Going from angsty punk songs like “Dead On Arrival,” paired with a music video featuring footage from their underground shows, to “Champion,” a generic track that is guaranteed to play over every high school football highlight reel for the next year, is a downgrade. As I have mentioned before, I am holding out because they are capable of so much more. The days of hardcore music from Fall Out Boy are long gone, but between smiles and regrets, I can’t say it’s over just yet.

For now, though, this is what we’re stuck with:

Leave a Reply

